SOULUTION

21 Mar

Lyrics: There’s a song in every silence/ seeking word and melody/ there’s a dawn for every darkness/bringing hope to you and me.

When I was a teenager in the 50’s I was in love with Eddie Fisher.  A favorite activity was to hang out with my friend at Sherman & Clay in downtown Seattle where we listened to records in a private booth.  One time I shared a booth with a musician in one of the Big Bands of the day and listened to his music selections.  I felt like I was in the presence of royalty.

Music has always been an important part of my life as it is for most people.  Over the years I’ve acquired new tastes but music from the 50’s generates a lot of memories.  I went through a western phase then thanks to Texas Jim Lewis, Jack Rivers, and Fiddlin’ Neil, local TV entertainers.  Music of every decade recalls moments of our lives during those times.

Twenty-seven years ago I was excited by the operatic music of the Three Tenors: Pavarotti, Carreras, and Domingo, and years later my husband indulged me with a trip to New York to see Domingo sing Siegfried in one of Wagner’s operas.  Today I’m in love with the voices of Il Volo, three young Italians: two tenors and a baritone whose idols were/are the Three Tenors.  Thanks to PBS for showing their Notte Magica program filmed in Florence last year and, thanks to Youtube, I can watch them anytime I want and because they make me happy and give me goosebumps I watch them often.  And, thanks to my dear daughters-in-law, I will see “my boys” live this month.  Another item to check off the bucket list.

Music connects us with our emotions, with our soul.  It IS the Universal language.  Another PBS favorite is Andre Rieu, the Dutch violinist with an entourage of gorgeously gowned female musicians and tuxedoed male musicians.  In one of his programs (also on Youtube) he introduced an Argentinian musician, Carlos Buono, who played Adios Nonino (farewell father) on the bandoneon.  It hit on every emotion with the camera zooming in on many tears.  For me, it’s the goosebumps.

Cost of security for Trump Tower = $183 million/year.

Budget for the National Endowment for the Arts/Humanities = $148 million/year.

Lyrics: In the cold and snow of winter/ there’s a spring that waits to be/ unrevealed until its season/ some-thing God alone can see.  (In the Bulb There is a Flower by Natalie Sleeth.)

 

 

 

 

4 Responses to “SOULUTION”

  1. Lorraine Woods April 6, 2017 at 4:06 am #

    Music has always been important to me too. One of the soundtracks of my life is my father playing classical music on the stereo as we were growing up. It always spoke to me then, even tho I was a child of the 60s and the Beatles music played a huge part as well. But I’m a lover of King FM classical radio here in Seattle, and I know my father was the one who planted the musical seed. Thank you for such a beautiful rendition of how music played out in your life and how our emotions become entangled with our memories, even as children.

  2. Judi Kelly April 6, 2017 at 6:49 pm #

    Musicians will always be happy if they are tossed a bit of cash for what is their passion and calling. When I see and hear news about the defunding of arts and music anywhere I shake my head knowing that it will be one less kid (that maybe doesn’t have that incredible talent to be someone we listen to) who gets the chance to wrap their fingers around the body of a horn, the bow of a stringed instrument, their lips pressed against a mouthpiece that will move the wind from their Soul through the instrument…and frankly I weep for their loss.

    When we as musicians and artists allow this to be taken from those that haven’t had the experience of soaring in the moment and truly finding oneself, then we are as complicit as those that spend money on other things deemed more important. We come to the crossroads in remembering we must “give it away” – this gift we are given. We pay it forward to the young ones and those that can’t afford to even consider taking classes or buying an instrument. It is my responsibility to take up the slack, offer my gifts in the give-away, hand an instrument to another or sheet music with the time to teach what I was given.

    I am a musician, an artist, a woman who stands in her power and says thank-you for all I have been given. They may take the money from me, they will fail to take the hope and inspiration that live in my bones.

  3. Rochelle April 8, 2017 at 4:24 pm #

    Always love your blogs dear soul, I can hear your voice reading every word. For me the music of your voice gives me goosebumps! xoxox

  4. jrd1776jrd1776 April 9, 2017 at 8:22 am #

    Beautiful blog, sweet friend!

    I’ve been soaring with IL VOLO since the end of 2011.
    Their music contributed to a family member healing from a life-long illness.

    And they bring me joy every day! My favorite IL VOLO activity? Walk-dancing by the river with my headphones on, twirling to their JOYluscious majestic harmonies! Night or Day, the IL VOLO guys are definitely magic!

    Loving gratitude from Jeanine

Leave a comment