LETTER TO THE MAYOR

1 Oct

Zip-A-Dee-Doo-Dah, Zip-A-Dee-A/ My oh my, what a wonderful day.

Seattle is one of the fastest growing cities in the country and, with little room for expansion due to it myriad of water ways, it’s growing UP with single homes replaced by four to five story buildings.  The City, with intent of getting rid of cars, is not requiring new buildings to provide parking spaces, leaving city streets saturated with cars.  It’s a new landscape to be sure.  And so it was when the motorcar replaced the horse and buggy.  Out with the old, in with the new.  They call our communities Urban Villages and the idea is that everything we need is within walking distance.  Alas, they forgot the infrastructure.

Seattle has served it’s elders with a system of Senior Service Centers funded by United Way in addition to the City.  That funding is now being withdrawn.  I have sent a letter to the Mayor asking for an explanation.  Rumor has it that he’s wanting to have Seattle designated as an “Age Friendly City.”  Hmmm.  I think he needs a new advisor about how to achieve that goal.  The program currently being defunded met the criteria of the Older Americans Act (OAA), originally enacted in 1965, supporting a range of home and community-based services, such as meals-on-wheels and other nutrition programs, in-home services, transportation, legal services, elder abuse prevention and caregivers support.

Makes one wonder if Seattle values its elders or are we the throw-aways of our culture?  I would remind the Mayor that we’re not out yet and we vote.

We’ve looked at the concept of Village-to-Village before; a program designed to provide services to elders that supports them to stay in their home.  (www.rosesinjanuary.com, April 16,2015)  There are currently three V-V in Seattle and one in the works for my community.  Village-to-Village doesn’t depend on government.  It is funded by individual $600/year memberships and depends on local volunteers.  We still need our Senior Centers and the resources they provide and I look forward to hearing back from the Mayor’s office.

I don’t know how many more years I have enabling me to live in place in my home.  Living independently is a misnomer.  I need, we need, the support of family, friends, and neighbors.  Always have.  Meanwhile, the days are getting shorter and the weather cooler.  The roses are still blooming and require my attention.  It’s one way of giving back to my community.

Lyrics: Mister bluebird on my shoulder/ It’s the truth/ It’s actual/ Everything is satisfactual.

3 Responses to “LETTER TO THE MAYOR”

  1. Joy October 1, 2015 at 8:18 pm #

    The right to life for all ages of development. First the fetus now the elderly I think this has been going on for a long time I don’t think we really though it would happen to us but here it is right in our face.

  2. Keela Marshall October 1, 2015 at 11:51 pm #

    Well said Barb. I also am concerned about the developers clear the land and build their building, but do not replace the trees..It would be a a good idea for them to be required to replace the number of trees they removed. We all need the trees to breath and detox the air.

  3. Maxine Nicholson October 2, 2015 at 1:11 pm #

    The Seattle situation is in deed is very alarming!!

Leave a comment